Never Saw It Coming

I met Nathan my freshman year in college while playing on the same intramural volleyball team.  I thought he was so good looking and loved the fact that he played soccer like myself.  I thought his slight “twang” was cute and found the fact that he was from Kansas so enduring.  He seemed to dress like every other East Coaster I knew, loved anything North Face and  drove a Jetta – so I thought it was safe to fall in love with him.

3 years later, degree and marriage certificate in hand, I climbed in said Jetta and headed to Kansas with him – it was only going to be for a short while.  He just needed to finish a 2nd degree at Friends and then we would be off to some quaint little town along the  east coast – where we spend our free time at museums and bookstores, when we weren’t coaching or teaching.

I can still remember that first drive to Kansas after our wedding.  I fell asleep somewhere westbound on I-70 between Kansas City and Wichita.  When I woke up, Nathan was singing a song at the top of his lungs.  I thought it was so funny and then I listened closely and realized it was country music.  I was shocked – didn’t we only like Harry Connick Jr, Depeche Mode and Erasure??? (ok, slight exaggeration there, I loved these singers, but he seemed to have indulged me up to this point and never once had we EVER listened to any country music together!)

So, fast forward a few years into  wedded bliss and I began to see more obvious hints of “hillbilly” in my man.  There was the time  he didn’t even flinch when his grandma asked him to come over and shoot her old cat, or the fishing he made me do on a little man-made lake on a friend’s property, the barbecue restaurant, “Bucks Barbecue” that he loved (Which incidently got turned into a Starbucks and makes me smile every time I see it!)  or the gleam I saw in his eye when he brought home a full body fleece camouflage outfit for baby Sam.  We loved to laugh at the changes in my life, and it always made for a good story – but really I was living a happy life in a fun city with great friends and a wonderful little family.

Well, when we hit 15 years of marriage I think Nathan decided there was no point in hiding his true nature any longer – he declared in Eddie Bauer one day that he never really liked any of the clothes they made (Shock to me who bought him lots of items there!) and began making lots more trips to Gander Mountain (sort of like Bass Pro Shop) instead of his usual Backwoods (trendy outdoors equipment and apparel)  Next came the firearms and a clay pigeon “launcher.”

But, I knew that it was all over, when he returned from a trip to Gander last week with this  fleece for me and it was NOT a joke – he really thought I would like it:

Update:  So I indulged him the other day and put the fleece on – only in the house, of course.  Unfortunately, it is a really comfortable one  that I would ordinarily love to wear (if it were in a  SOLID color).  He told me about 3 or 20 times how cute I looked – why couldn’t he say that when I wear the clothes I like???

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Never Saw It Coming

  1. Ann

    I was hoping for of photo of yOu wearing it!!

  2. Kelsey

    Laughing out loud while reading this!

Leave a Reply

