HUMBLING MOMENT

It was my fault. I should have known better. But, when a friend approached me about taking the kids out to eat tonight, without our working husbands, I thought it sounded fun. I often forget about my 2 year old and 10 month old when I imagine such “outings” to be fun. Not to mention that each girl had had a friend over this afternoon, Sam had taken a short nap, and Nevi was cutting two teeth. Nothing like setting myself up for disaster! Anyway… throughout the meal, the girls got up on several occasions to “go to the bathroom.” Each time, Sam would say. “I need to go potty too!” and I would explain to him that I couldn’t take him right now and we would try when we got home (He is not potty trained.) After a shirt in ketchup incident, and Elli dumping my glass of water over, I decided it was time to strap the kids in their carseats and enjoy a few minutes of child restrained peace. As I got Nevi out of her seat, I noticed Sam walking away from the table. I was not too worried because it was right by our table, and no exit was in site. As I went to get him, he was no where to be found. I quickly made a sweep around the restaurant only to come back to our table and watch him exit the men’s bathroom with his pants and pull-up around his ankles, shouting, “Mom, I need to go potty!” Everyone around us started cracking up. I quickly handed off the baby, ushered him into the hallway between the restrooms, and while pulling his pants up, laughed uncontrollably. I couldn’t get the picture out of my head of him trying to get his short naked little body onto a potty, and then coming out to get my help. And how did he know to go in the Men’s Room???

1 Comment

Filed under Funny Stories, Sam

One response to “HUMBLING MOMENT

  1. CJ

    Thanks for sharing your story… I laughed so hard imaging what your evening was like. I’m sorry that you didn’t get to enjoy a nice quiet evening out, but what a great memory that you have to enjoy…and maybe even to embarrass him in the future!!!

Leave a Reply

